2018 – LIFE

It is a long time since I have been on this site.  Reading back through my posts has made me think about the importance of keeping a journal of your life.  Yes, you only live once, but remembering the highs and lows of one’s life adds continuous spice to it. So, this is the first blog entry for 2018.  This year is about family, work, study, travel, refurbishing our little wonky home in Percy St.

THE RAPID UPDATE:

a) FAMILY – we lost Dad in 2017 but gained our little Cleo. She is pure joy and much loved.

Cleo, born 1st January, is a wait and see how she develops.  She has the calmest of natures and is, for Alex, an easy baby – if there is such a thing.  She reminds me of her mother as a baby.  Nikau of course, well just look at him. he’s awesome.  The love he has for his little sister is self-evident.

We continue to look after Mum whose health is up and down.  Not quite sure what to think of where she is at.  She is really hard to work with as her thinking is often unclear and she is stubborn!!  Got to love it.  I don’t think she is very happy as life is pretty hard but she gets through the day and is making plans.

All the family are in a relatively good space currently.  Ben has finally seen the light and is making the move this year out of Auckland.  I hope he finds his place in the world and makes his mark.

b) WORK:  Busy busy busy.  Afraid that it is consuming me once again but am trying to keep a life balance by going to the gym 3 times a week.  Have just spent last week at Bland Bay as Camp cook.  I actually enjoy this as it is a good head break for me.  I have lots of students with lots of need.  My big focus this year is learning to delegate and growing the LSA team into a bunch of really highly skilled assistants.  Tracey Aitken and I are heading to Vancouver mid-April to attend a FASD conference and, of course, a few days skiing at Whistler.  Which brings me to the third point on the list…..

c) STUDY:  Busy busy busy. Why do I do this to myself? Have enrolled at AUT to do a post-graduate dip Prac with the intention of doing some work which may lead me into consultancy.  First lecture is next week so will update how this goes then.  My big problem when studying is giving up when time pressures take over. I know I will have to be super focussed on finishing this and maintaining good time management.

d) TRAVEL:  Vancouver, Whistler – April;  Wanaka, September – after that, who knows?

e) REFURB:  This is something that is for me.  I am finally getting to refurbish a house how I want my home to be.  Rob is being amazing at working through this.  We have just started our first big overhaul – the main bathroom.  Upload photos.

2 thoughts on “2018 – LIFE

Leave a comment